Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Life Ruined

Life Ruined

Just came across this board as I searched the Internet for a place to vent. Before I start please listen to my story:

For years I was a fast rising University administrator. After finishing NYU in NYC I went to work for a university as a career counselor. I loved assisting students as they seeked careers and graduate schools. It was a great time and though my salary was not much, I enjoyed what I did.

During this time I was always approached by people in my urban neighborhood to join the drug game. I never did and used my spare time to get kids on the right track by starting youth and sports programs. I did this and continue to do this until this day. In the meantime I continued to work in higher education. I went from counselor to College Vice President in 20 plus years. I was a dedicated person who still found time to volunteer in my community and act as a change agent.

Here is what changed my life forever: During a time when things were not going great at home, I became a flirting type of guy. I met a women who I thought was nice one morning. This women called me and called me and eventually came to see me in my office. In my office she cried like a baby as she explained how she had paid a guy $5000 to marry her so she could get citizenship. Needless to say she needed help. I told her I would try to help her and even made a few phone calls for her while she sat. I was attempting to get her in an adult program at the college I was working at. I also told her this had nothing to do with me flirting with her in the past. She thanked me and gave me a big hug and left. Later she called and left a message on my phone saying how much she missed me and wanted to see me. I never called back until after 4 more messages. She again came to see me in my office. Because I always told my Secretary's to document all visitors, they documented the visit.