Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Saffron

Hello

Well, I was all in favour of this part of the board, but now I am here, I am not sure where to start. I suppose it would make sense to tell you a bit about myself and the circumstances that led me here.

I am 34 years old married mother of two. I work as a recruitment consultant full time which, combined with motherhood duties is pretty stressful! Until 3 years ago, my husband had a very successful career, and our hopes were that I would soon be able to give up work and be a stay at home mum to our (then our only) son. I suppose we were happy in our own fashion, but having been married for a while, were not as close as we had been.

In September 2003 my sister got married. My husband was an usher, I was the only bridesmaid, and our son was the pageboy. It was very much a family affair, and we did all the food and party arrangements ourselves in a huge marquee in my parent's grounds.

2 days before the wedding, I was expecting him home from a business trip (he spent at least 2 nights a week away) at about 7pm. By midnight he was still not home, and I was frantic with worry. His mobile phone was off. Finally at gone midnight he called me and said there had been an incident at the hotel he was staying at, and that he was "helping the police with their enquiries". I asked him if he had been arrested, and he said yes. I asked him what for, but he said he had to go. I was horrified and furious. Neither of us had ever been in trouble with the police, and for this to happen 2 days before my sister's wedding was unthinkable. My guess was that there had been a drunken fight in the bar of the hotel he was staying in (he was there with a number of colleagues, and I knew they would all be in the beers)

He made it home at about 4am. I was so angry i wouldn't speak to him. He told me all charges had beeen dropped, and that my guess of a drunken fight was right.